Search results

1. E

Hornby Hogwarts Express derails on Atlas HO code 83 frogs

Thanks, Espeefan -- we will try that.
  2. E

Hornby Hogwarts Express derails on Atlas HO code 83 frogs

My son recently bought an OO Hornby Hogwarts Express loco for his kids' layout that is all Atlas HO code 83 track. The front truck of the loco derails on turnout and crossing frogs, with a 60 degree crossing being the worst problem. It appears that the flanges can't stay in the flangeway at...
  3. E

remove paint from Athearn diesel frame

Thanks again, Mark -- I will try it. -- Ed
  4. E

Thanks for the suggestion, Mark. I suppose you mean 70% isopropyl, but I also have some 50% grain alcohol. I would never have thought of blow drying, and I wonder -- wouldn't that evaporate the alcohol and leave everything else behind? You can tell that I have no experience with cleaning...
  5. E

Thanks a bunch, Mike -- nothing like the voice of experience. I have family visiting now 'til Sunday, but then I'll go ahead with scrub and spray -- Ed
  6. E

Gee, Mike, thanks a lot. The primer idea sounds good to me - I'll try it. Ed
  7. E

I found a new frame so I can repair my Athearn GP38-2, but they had only black and I need silver. I want to remove the black paint - does anyone know how? Ed in South Bend, IN
  8. E

Athearn GP38-2 -- some info needed

Thanks for the picture, bill -- I see its number is ATH77155. I want to find an ATH80xx. There are two on ebay now, so one of those is the way I would go if I decide that I can't find just a frame very soon. Thanks for all your info. Ed
  9. E

To all -- the hobby shop does not actually have a frame. I'm still looking and listening.
  10. E

Thank you, Bill, for that offer. My GP38-2 is Athearn stock number 8013, so I'm looking only for units that begin with 80 and came in a box that says "the future of model railroading". My trucks say SRL7207 and have two brake cylinders. I put "Athearn underframe 46729" into Bing and turned up...
  11. E