Search results

1. S

Building the Pinnacle Creek Mining & Timber Co. RR

It's all comming together nicely. I'm in the process of a similar HOn3 logging road, but decided to try foam for a hillside. I've broken two electric carving knives so far, so the cardboard and netting (or strips) will be the way I go. That's a lot of ground to cover with WS cloth. Pretty...
  2. S

Block protection (newie to DCC)

Well, I.m an electrician by trade.. and a Scotsman on my fathers side, so I'll stick with the fuses. Those CB boards are selling for $30/40 a piece. I do have a meter, the fuses are just there to protect the engine/system. I'd rather spend the money on another Blackstone C-19. What a beauty!:)
  3. S

Block protection (newie to DCC)

Just getting started at wiring up a new Digitax DCC system on a moderate (when complete) room size layout. I read with interest the question and answers about block detection and have seen some articles about isolating the layout into blocks to ease troubleshooting down the road. The one...
  4. S

Digitrax vs. NCE USB Adapter

If you've got a newer laptop pc, they don't HAVE serial ports. (And try to find Winterm in the VISTA operating system!)
  5. S

“rule of thumb” on Narrow gauge rolling stock sizes

Thanks to all that have responed! A wealth of information. Looks like I'll have some benchtime comming up, populating my layout. Oh boy! SAJ
  6. S

“rule of thumb” on Narrow gauge rolling stock sizes

I’ve managed to build a couple HOn3 wheel sets from Kadee, and mount them on an old MDC platform car. I shortened the car by cutting about an inch and half from the middle, but did not narrow it. Needless to say, it does not look right. Does anyone have advice or websites that can give me a...
  7. S

Painting brass locomotives