Curves

kingnothing395

Is there a combination of 15", 18", 22", and 24" track pieces that gets close to a half-circle? When I picked up my oval-shaped layout, I found that I had used a combination of different curve sizes, but still had an oval. I've been trying to replicate it, but can't seem to make it work again.

6-15", 6-18" or 8-22" each makes a half circle. I have no experience with 24" so I cannot accurately answer that one, but I believe that it is also 8 pieces.
You can also use a combination of 4-22" and 3-18", using 2-22" leading into and out of the 3-18" pieces. Another combination that works is 2-18" leading into 2-15" with 2 more 18" coming out.
All combinations that I have posted will make a true half circle without any fudging or forcing.

Thank you! In the past, I must've used 2-22" then 3-18" then 2-22" pieces. I thought we tried that the other day, but I'll try it again.

Thank you! In the past, I must've used 2-22" then 3-18" then 2-22" pieces. I thought we tried that the other day, but I'll try it again.
It worked! Thanks again!
Good subject. For a little more insight (or geometry, as the case may be🤪)..................

As most folks know, a full circle is generally defined as 360°.
22" radius track sections are each 22-1/2° (or 16 pieces to a full circle). Therefore, 4 of these track sections add up to 90°.
18" radius track sections, and 15" radius too, are each 30° (or 12 pieces to a full circle). Therefore, 3 of these track sections add up to 90°.
And there you have it - 90° plus 90° equals 180°, or a half of a circle, regardless of the two different radii we used here!