How do you run your Model Railroad?

N

NP2626

My layout has fairly limited industries to serve. However, for the most part, when I operate trains, I use car cards and service the industries that I have. I am still in the process of developing an operations scheme for my layout. Since I am a Lone Wolf operator, I can find my layout to be too simple to operate, so that it doesn't hold my interest. This certainly might be due to MY lack of knowledge on how real railroads operated.

I find I am much more interested in building my layout than operating it: "Modeling" (Building models from kits; or, scratch) holds my interest much better than running my layout. "Layout Building" (track planing, track laying, wiring, bench work, building and finishing scenery) also holds my attention better! Heck, I find that running a track cleaning train around the layout while doing some work at my bench is more fun than "Operations"!

Last edited by a moderator:
To outline what operations I have developed, here is what I do. You need to keep in mind that my layout is supposed to be what the Northern Pacific called the "Butte Shortline". This was a mostly passenger line which broke from the N.P. main at Logan Montana, ran through Butte, Montana and rejoined the N.P. main, at Garrison Montana. There are two Passenger Trains, one from the east and one from the west. Then, there is four local freight trains, two from the east and two from the west. These trains service all the industries along the line. There are two log trains, an empty and a loaded log train and an empty and loaded copper ore train. The empty and loaded ore trains pick up and deliver at two locations on the layout.

In a "Nut Shell" the above defines operations on my layout.

To make this thread a dialog, please describe how you operate your layout!

Last edited by a moderator: