No sound in DCC...heelp please.

Marlin39

I have an Atlas Gold Master S2. In DC mode the sound works great.

I just bought an NCE unit. There is no sound or startup sequence when I plug the power in. The engine runs fine otherwise. I can turn the headlights on/off, bell, and horn with the function key.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Push the f8 button to start the engine.

Excuse my ignorance, but there is no "F8" key on my controller. Would you please clarify.

I figured it out. Works great! Why can't they print simple instructions for us without an electrical engineering degree.
Thanks

Last edited:
I am assuming you have an NCE Power Cab, if so then as Terry has said, press the No: 8 key on the hand set, that is the F8 key, although not called that on the handset - that No: 8 key turns your sound on and off. Your Horn and Bell will operate as they are turned on and off using the appropriate Horn/Bell Keys.

I have found the NCE instructions very good ... compared to other more notable brands, but I do agree with you 1000%, most instructions are written for those who don't need them and with a great deal of assumed knowledge implied. Instructions should be written for the lowest denominator and for that denominator to be able to fully understand what is being written. The lowest denominator is the person who knows nothing about the subject and doesn't have a degree in electrical engineering. If that person can't understand the instructions (for any reason other than a lack of intellect) then the instructions fail and are useless.

Just as a secondary thought ... I once had a digitrax system and the instructions were so woeful that I doubt even an electrical engineer could follow them. I ended up calling digitrax for clarification and the "tech support idiot" (yes, idiot) arrogantly told me that if I couldn't understand the instructions, I shouldn't have bought the system and should go back to DC.